It’s amazing how quickly an evening of cocktails can go from fun to nerve-racking. Seeing red and blue lights in the rearview mirror is not the way anyone wants to end an evening out.
Facing DUI charges in New Jersey can be a frightening experience. You may have had a friend or coworker who has gone through the process and understand that it can get expensive fast.
Here’s what you can expect if you are facing a DUI charge.
There’s a first time for everything
The idea behind all the fines for a DUI charge is that, hopefully, the experience will make you want to prevent it from happening again. So, even if it is your first, the penalties for a DUI can add up quickly.
In New Jersey, for drivers over age 21, there is a “per se” blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit (0.08 percent) and an “enhanced penalty” or “aggravated” BAC limit (0.10 percent).
The penalties you can expect from your first per se DUI include:
- Loss of your license for three months
- Up to 30 days in jail
- $250-$400 fine
- $230 paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- $100 paid to the drunk driving fund
- $100 paid to Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- $1,000/year surcharge paid for three years
- $75 paid to Neighborhood Services Funds
If you are facing an aggravated DUI, the fines are similar, but you will be looking at more time without a license and, if your BAC was 0.15% or greater, you would have to get an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
The same old story
Keep in mind that New Jersey treats repeat DUIs very seriously. Before you know it, an expensive mistake can escalate into prison time. You may also lose your license for up to 10 years.